Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) include certified nurse practitioners, certified registered nurse anesthetists, certified nurse midwives, and clinical nurse specialists. APRNs are a highly valued and integral part of the health care system. 

View the APRN Map

The APRN Compact is a Modern Licensure Solution for the 21st Century. As leaders in public protection, state boards of nursing developed and adopted the APRN Compact in 2020. The APRN Compact allows for advanced practice registered nurses to have one multistate license with the ability to practice in all compact states.

Help us fill in the map!

Hover over or click the filled-in states for more information

The APRN Compact will come into effect once 7 states have enacted the legislation.

APRN Compact Supporters Across the U.S.

  • American Organization of Nurse Leaders (AONL)
  • Alliance for Connected Care
  • American Telemedicine Association (ATA)
  • Asian American/Pacific Islander Nurses Association
  • College of Urgent Care Medicine
  • Cross Country Healthcare
  • Health Innovation Alliance
  • National Association of Neonatal Nurses
  • National League for Nursing
  • National Military Family Association
  • National Rural Health Association
  • Oncology Nursing Association
  • Pennsylvania Rural Health Association

Sign up for APRN Compact updates to stay informed.